Some days, I feel overwhelmed and embattled in, a war of causes. One i didn’t even enlist in. Heres- the thing- I hear and am moved by the impassioned pleas:

Justice! Child advocacy! Healthy families! Hunger! HIV! Cancer! Poverty! Clean water! Healthcare! Orphan care! Homelessness! Mental illness! Literacy! Refugees! Chronic illness! Foster Care! Adoption! Human Trafficking! Substance Abuse! Sex Trade! Food Contamination! Child Abuse! …. The list is endless. And heartbreaking.

I care. I do. And- I can say without guilt- that I do what I can when I can, to make a difference in the lives of others. I take seriously the call to comfort others with the comfort I’ve been given, and to love  one another. Whom ever “another” happens to be.

But, I have a problem. I’m tired of people sharing their passion and at the same time…demeaning the passions and callings of others.

It makes no sense to me when compassionate people battle to claim their cause as: THE MOST IMPORTANT. THE MOST GODLY.  THE most gospel driven….The most…. whatever.

The truth is:  ALL these things matter. ALL these things (and so many others) break the heart of, and matter to God. All these things- need impassioned voices to express their value, need and to inspire others to help.

I wonder what would happen if- we stopped wasting time arguing about what the most important causes are… and started being thankful that God touches each of us with unique areas of compassion. What if we championed the causes of others instead of judging them?  (As less important that OUR cause- of course.)

I’m not sure why we do it. Maybe we feel the need to justify the things we advocate for. Maybe we think that be telling people our cause should be their priority is how we communicate our causes value. Maybe it’s because of darker reasons… maybe we want to be on the “best cause” team. Maybe it’s more about US than our cause. I honestly don’t know.

But, I know this- We are all together supposed to carry out the work of the gospel. Each one our own unique part. And I refuse to judge or devalue the contribution of any body part that God deems necessary. Maybe we’re not supposed to argue about what part is the most important… maybe we’re just each supposed to do our own part and help each other.

Maybe.

Dear Lord- I love you- and I love the people you’ve created. I love to see people impassioned for causes that make a difference. I LOVE to make a difference in the causes you’ve uniquely called and impassioned me to- I ask you Lord to help me not to devalue the contributions of others- but to see their causes as part of a bigger whole…. the whole of the gospel. The body of Christ in action on Earth… making a difference each- in it’s own way. Please help me to communicate my causes with compassion, passion and respect for the the causes of others- help me be a help to others- and not a competitor…. I love you lord- amen. 

Some verses to think about:

12 Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ. 13 For we were all baptized by[c] one Spirit so as to form one body—whether Jews or Gentiles, slave or free—and we were all given the one Spirit to drink. 14 Even so the body is not made up of one part but of many.

15 Now if the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body. 16 And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason stop being part of the body. 17 If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? 18 But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. 19 If they were all one part, where would the body be? 20 As it is, there are many parts, but one body.

21 The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” 22 On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, 23 and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor. And the parts that are unpresentable are treated with special modesty,24 while our presentable parts need no special treatment. But God has put the body together, giving greater honor to the parts that lacked it, 25 so that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. 26 If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. 1 Cor 12:12-26

So– am I the only one who feels like there’s a battle of causes?

Am I the only one who feels like judgments are made that some causes are more : “godly, valuable or important” than others? And thinks that’s wrong?

Finally- i’f you’re passionate about a cause… I’d LOVE to hear about it—-comment away! Tell me what you’re passionate about and WHY! Link to your cause! Share your heart. I’ll pray!

I have a few- I’m passionate about healthy families all over the world- – so I work with MOPS International. I do that- because I believe its a great way to help moms be the moms God wants for them to each uniquely be. I also work with MOPS because I believe with all my heart that we are better mothers- when we mother together. MOPS builds community that can make that difference in a mom’s life.  I’m also passionate about those with chronic or life threatening illness…(My husband’s battle with cancer has shined a spotlight on how hard those struggles are)  So I help comfort those struggling however I can. I’m also passionate about children being safe and loved.  So that means I’m an advocate for adoption, healthy foster care, therapeutic services being available for and the protection of children and their needs of all sorts being met ….. I do what I can to help in those areas.

Those are my areas of focus.. What are yours? When I look at all the needs out there I get overwhelmed… but when I see/hear about how others do their part to meet those needs… I feel encouraged! So let’s talk! Causes!

Confession: It’s possible I read too much. This post mostly stems from reading book after book- author after author telling me that their cause is the most important…. and from Facebook and social media… which kind of makes causes feel like the March Madness of Christendom. Speaking of social media…which- I’m having a limited fast from that for the next couple of weeks;) So if I’m a bit quiet-for the next couple of weeks-  it’s due to my choice to focus on more direct connections;) Like actual face time. Phone calls. Etc:)