fiber godmother goodies;)

 Happy Mail!  I participated in the “FiberGodmother” Swap- and wow!  A box that must have made my mail-person cringe… it was HEAVY!  

A Huge Thank You to : CATE!!!!

You can click through to flickr to see the descriptions- Suffice to say= YUMTASTIC!  Gorgeous handpaint roving..reading materials beautiful and cute stitch markers…..  CHOCOLATE… a Morsbag in an adorable sheepy print;)  Dark chocolate peanut M & M’s  A wonderful pkg- thnx  so much!

mitered squares Debbie Mumm Mitered Squares Blanket from “Mason Dixon Knitting”  I’m using a new yarn- Debbie Mumm “Traditions” I found at JoAnn’s Etc (the mega store). 

Apparently- this yarn is tough to find- it’s a Jo-Ann brand- and seems to only be available at the bigger stores) but I must have had a lucky day;)

My goal with this project is to make a “fall” inspired throw.  The yarn’s color changes are lovely, and they are blending well together.  The yarn itself  has a few “quirks” mostly due to the type of yarn, not the quality.  It’s a loosely spun wool plied around an acrylic core.  Once in a while the wool “bunches up” and I have to smooth it out a bit with my hand.  Not a big problem.   There are also a few (2 or 3) knots in each ball- since I’m working in squares it doesn’t bug me-however-  if i were using it for a large- one piece project- it might. 

I’d compare it to noro transitions ( and other various noro’s) – minus the sticks and twigs.  Also- big plus-  this is only $5.99 a ball.  Another plus- I like the tonal variant here- better than the multi colors.

I’m knitting this on US 6 bamboo needles and I like the fabric.  I think I will be using the brown variegate for the mitered border….. But that’s open to change.  

thujathujathuja- DH

Pumpkin Pie Quickie Thuja’s

US #6 DPN’s  (I’ll go down when I make these again)

Moda Dea Washable Wool in Tangerine  (Another nice surprise from JoAnn Etc)

These are “hunt socks” for my husband- thick- soft wool- to wear with his boots.  At  2 1/2 days to knit- really- how can you beat that?  What has taken me so long to knit this pattern? 

Will be casting on at least 2 more pair- for my other hunters- and will work up a tiny pair for the little guy;) 

Hmmm I may need some too;)

orange would be cute with my croc’s for fall;)