Alright.  I mostly do not post rants.  But today- I’m furious. I went to a local store, WalMart. To pick up a few things.  Since it’s Christmas time -(sheesh- can you believe that?)  I checked the toy aisle to see if I could pick up a few things.  On the shelves I found AquaDots.  They’ve been on the news ALL DAY.  RECALLED.

These have been recalled for being extremely dangerous.  I spoke with a store employee who said “Oh yeah- we know we’re in the process of pulling them.”   There had been no one in the aisle pulling them.  Afterwards- I (stealthy sleuth Mom that I am) circled back.  No One. Still on the shelves. I asked to speak with a store manager before leaving.  Manager was busy but employee took note of the issue.  They are probably still on the shelves. Hence- the fury of a mother scorned.

I could have pulled the items off the shelves and into a basket in about 30 seconds.  (Now that I think of it- I should have)

How long do stores have to remove dangerous products?  When confronted with a dangerous item- WHY on earth would an employee answer “oh yeah we know”- and not DO something about it?

Is it the big-box store mentality?  Too much red-tape to pull an item?  What if kids (teens) go in purposefully hunting for this item?  I’m furious.  Will put a follow up call in to the store.  Already called a local news team. 

I am sure this bothered me so much because it is an item the little guy has been wanting, desperately.  Last week we spotted them at another store- and had them in the cart.  But they were missing the “pen” part.  So we decided not to purchase.  Good thing we didn’t- as the little guys has a history of putting things in his mouth.  But, we could have.

So- Moms who stop buy here- PLEASE don’t purchase or allow your child to use Aquadots.  If YOU see them on the shelves- say something.  I’m sure all the recalls lately are making it difficult to keep up.  But- unless they want lawsuits- they better.

PS- it will be a while before I step back in a Walmart.  Service- prices blah blah blah— but flagrant risking of the safety of kids?  THAT WILL KEEP ME OUT.

Hope you don’t find any….  But if you do- speak up.

sheesh I think I’ll be knitting toys this year!  Maybe with cat hair- we have plenty of that around here- and I know it’s not contaminated with anything- but cat spit.

Edited to add:

At 6:30 My Hubby went back to the Walmart- to see if the Aquadots were still on the shelves.  The ones on the pegged rack were gone- but 4 pkgs were left on the shelf below.  He took them to the manager.  Ridiculous.  Still furious- but at least they are off the shelves.  (we hope)