046The Great Dandelion Drama, begins early each Spring.  It starts with the arrival of a single, leafy, sunny faced, little visitor.  A visitor who is quickly plucked by the root, from it’s new home in our suburban lawn. So the battle begins.  We do not allow dandelions in the suburbs.  They are a sign of imperfection., a blight, a weed.

What may be a harbinger of Spring and wildflower of the summer to some, is here considered a lawn cancer.  Upon their arrival, they are assaulted with a chemo-like cocktail of chemicals. Dandelions are as contagious and dangerous as the Swine flu, if lawn masks were available, every lawn would wear one.

Totally oblivious to the angst they create, those smiling yellow faces, peer out  from between the deep green blades of grass.  Like a solicitor at dinner time, they have no idea how un-welcome they are.  The dandelions are simply doing what God designed, they are living and growing and filling their space with brilliant yellow blooms. 

While driving the other day, I experienced what happens when Dandelions are left un plucked and un tamed.  I gasped at the beauty of a field aglow in yellow.  It was breathtaking.  What I daily saw as a weed, had been instantly transformed into beauty.  I smiled. I stopped the car.  I stepped out into the soggy field and took picture after picture,  trying to capture the depth  of the beauty that I saw.

One dandelion is a weed, but a field of dandelions is beautiful.

Sometimes, I feel like a dandelion.  I am out of place. I don’t belong.  I am messy. I am known for being late.  My house is messy.  I talk too loud and too fast. In a church culture that often values the quiet, background kind of woman, I am an upfront, speaking and sharing, kind of girl.  I have imperfect kids and an imperfect marriage.  I have a temper.  My roots show white in the middle of my deep auburn hair.  I can never get my face totally cleared up, there is always one pimple somewhere, mocking me.  I joke that the National Weather Service should send out a warning to local counties when my hormonal storms arise. (I joke- but am convinced that lives could be saved if they actually did issue warnings.) I am prone to depression and anxiety.  I eat too much and drink too much caffeine.  I struggle, both with pride and with feeling insecure.  I am afraid to try things, because I’m afraid I’ll fail. 

In short- if the world were a manicured suburban lawn, I’d be a dandelion.  

Looking at that field, I thought of all the women I’ve known  and how they’ve shared their own dandelion feelings.   Each one,  imperfect, messy and fallible.  I thought about how each one has also, taken her place in the field, being and doing the things that God has created her to do..I smiled.  Together-I know we are just as beautiful as a field of dandelions, to Him.

Dear Lord- help me to take my place in the field, help me to see the beauty in each woman around me, and to stop judging based on the perfection of her “lawn.”  help me to encourage her with the beauty you’ve created in her imperfection.  God- when I feel like a dandelion, I pray that you’ll remind me how beautiful dandelions can be- together,each one taking her place to  fill a field. I love you lord- amen.

Today join me in reading .. and finding out how God can use each of us…