Funny how tough we are, when we’re wearing our “water wings”, showing our muscles and making our “game face” as long as were on land.

Too bad everything changes when we hit the water. The transformation is quick and complete…..we go from “WWF” to “Wah wah wah”.  At least I do.

How many times have we witnessed this picture? A loving Dad holding a trusting , yet, fearful, almost 4′ tall child, while standing in water that’s 3 1/2 feet deep. You hear screaming. But the screams are a mix of fear and fun and a desire  for reassurance.

I’m afraid I’ll DROWNDED” screams the child, holding his daddy’s neck like a boa constrictor holds it’s first meal in a month.

“You’re ok, I’ve got you” affirms Dad…

“HOLD ME, DADDY!” Screams the child.

“Do you want to get out?” Asks Dad…

“No..No OUT, I want to swim! But- HOLD ON TO ME!” Screams child.

“I’ve got you, I won’t let go.” Replies the dad, his voice nearly strangled by the little arms wrapped around his neck.

The Dad grimaces from the fingers digging into neck flesh, but carries on. He won’t let go. He loves that boy.

As they float and bounce along, the screams change to screeches of joy.

“More motor boat, Daddy!”  “Faster, Daddy! Dip me daddy!” Giggles now punctuate each word.

“Almost time for dinner, big guy” Dad warns– noticing the sun is now dipping into the horizon.

“NOOOOOOOOOO, I Swim!!!!!” screeches the now- fearless little man.

He’s no longer afraid, he’s swimming in the deep end… with his dad.

What changed?  What turned his fear into joy?

The only thing that changed was his trust.

His daddy had always been holding him. He just needed time to trust it…

There’s more than a swimming pool story here. There is the story of my journey with God.

I often feel big and tough with my water wings on- as long as I’m on solid ground. But,when the ground melts to water I feel afraid. I scream out the same as Noah: “HOLD ME, DADDY!” I reach out for God, wrap my arms around his neck and beg him not to let go. As if he would.

Lots of things make me feel like Noah in that pool…sometimes, it’s a loss, a fear to confront, a child’s future to trust God with… a step of faith to take….but in the end- I am the same. Arms wrapped around my loving Father’s neck- screaming—

“I’m SCARED!” “HOLD ME!” , “I need…”

Luke 12:27
27″Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.” Replies my Loving Father.

“But – I feel like I’m gonna drown!” I yell a few minutes later.. Arms aching fro the strain.

Roman’s 4:21
“Being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. ” he replies…

Over and over- we wade in the deep ends of life sickness, pain, loss fear……. and he patiently reminds me he won’t let go…

Draw Me Close to You

Draw me close to you, never let me go

I lay it all down, again

To hear you say that I’m your friend

You are my desire, No one else will do

“Cause no one else can take your place

To feel the warmth of your embrace

Help me find a way, bring me back to you

You’re all I want, You’re all I ever needed

You’re all I want, Help me know that you are near.

I am reminded in worship…that HE is holding ME, not the other way around.

Shout To The Lord

My Jesus, My Savior
Lord, there is none like You
All of my days,
I want to praise
The wonders of Your mighty love

My comfort, My shelter
Tower of refuge and strength,
Let every breath,
All that I am,
Never cease to worship You

Shout to the Lord all the earth, let us sing
Power and majesty, praise to the King
Mountains bow down and the seas will roar
At the sound of Your name.
I sing for joy at the work of Your hands
Forever I’ll love You, forever I’ll stand
Nothing compares to the promise I have in You

I don’t have to scream in the deep end of the pool.

I can sing, as I wade in the pool of “stuff” . Sometimes through tears- but, always holding tightly to my father’s neck. Knowing that it is Him who really holds me.

A place of fear, turns to a place of joy.

“I’m gonna drownded” turns to

“One more swim!”

Am I in one of “those” places at the moment?  Yes.

Are you? You’re not alone.. and I believe he’s holding us both… and will never let go… we can either hold tight as if it’s up to us or relax into his arms and swim……I vote we swim and trust him in the deep end…. we’re here anyway;) 

Dear Lord- I love you, I trust you, please remind me that I do! I pray for my family-and friends, that they would know and trust the same, that whenever they find themselves in a cold, deep pool, they would wrap their arms around you- and find that you’re already holding onto them. And no- you never let go. Help us to rest in your arms….I love you Lord- amen!