On the third roll of the Pokemon Yahtzee Jr. dice, my grandma scored big.  “It’s the luck of the Irish” She grinned… 

“Grandma, you’re Welsh.” I countered. ( A little worried that assisted living was getting to her.)

“And Irish” She replied. “Our last name used to be O’Reardon. We dropped the O’ when we moved to the US.”

“Huh?” I looked at Grandma, she wasn’t kidding.

“I’m Irish?” I asked.

Grandma nodded.

And with that, my identity changed.

I now know that I am : Italian, Polish, English, Welsh and Irish. The entire UN wrapped in mom-jeans.

For 40+ years I’ve been confused about my identity.  It made me wonder….

What box do I check on my “census form, now?” The truth is- this isn’t my  first run in with identity confusion…

There is who I think I am… ( a mess) and who God says I am.….(forgiven, beloved, cherished) the two are vastly different. For the most part- I believe myself more than God. (Bad move, on my part.)

I’ve been wondering why, when my grandma announced my “Irishness” I accepted  it so easily,  but when God declares my identity in Him… I am reluctant  or slow (to say the least)  to believe it?

Does Grandma have more credibility than God?  Do I?  Does my past?  Does my insecurity?  Do other people’s opinions?

As much as I loved my grandma…(We lost her a year ago last December) I have to say no, she does not. Nor do I, or my past.. or anyone else.

It’s time I set aside my old beliefs about who I am.. and start listening to who God says I am….

If I can believe I’m Irish with the roll of a lucky die… I can certainly believe that I am a new creation as well….

How about you?

Dear Lord— I thank you for the identity I have..  in you. Help me to believe you above all the other voices in my head.. (especially my own) for yours is the voice of truth… I love you lord- amen.

An interesting study of who we are In Christ..this is the truth.. not because of us or what we or anyone say, think or believe…. but because of HIM…

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” 2 Cor. 5

Happy St. Paddy’s Day!  :)

” May the road rise up to meet you. May the wind be always at your back. May the sun shine warm upon your face; the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of His hand.  ”

An Irish Blessing- in honor of my Grandma…I miss you!

A repost from 2010